RSS

Not my typical Saturday…

06 Mar

today. My wife, Rochelle went out this morning to a Pampered Chef ‘party’ and I was left at home to do…well…whatever ‘I’ wanted. I put “I” in quotes because although I could do whatever I want, I know that, as a married man, if I didn’t do a few certain things in my “free” time…well…there would be consequences. Don’t get me wrong, these aren’t the same types of consequences that I blogged about earlier this morning. Every married man knows what I mean…every married woman should know what I mean.

Anywho, so I decided to clean some dishes, watch a little NCAA basketball, take a shower and wash the car. That’s right…March 6th and I’m washing the car. At the time it was about 40 degrees outside, however our outside thermometer (which was in the sun) said that it was in the 50’s. Smart man that I am (giving myself a pat on the back), I moved the car into the sun. Unfortunately, the hose was still frozen from being buried by a few inches of snow. So, the car got washed, but it’s not totally clean. At least the bird droppings from last fall are off the car…I call that a bonus!

Rochelle came back from the ‘party’ with some really good Panda Express food. My fav’s are the Black Pepper Chicken and the Mandarin Chicken. We have learned from the past that if you ever get the Mandarin Chicken (with sauce) to go, that you NEED to separate the sauce from the Styrofoam box; otherwise the heat from the food will melt the plastic that holds the sauce and the sauce goes everywhere…and I mean EVERYWHERE (in and out of the box).

So after some more cleaning, we decided to go to our church’s  Saturday evening service. Typically, we’re Sunday morning people, but because we thought we’d enjoy being able to sleep in on Sunday, we decided to go tonight. GREAT service. We’re studying the book of Revelation, verse-by-verse. Tonight was on chapter 10, which is a ‘time-out’ of sorts from the rest of the book…something that I’m sure John needed and something that I’m sure that we needed as well. All this end time prophecy can be a bit overwhelming all at once, so a breather is nice…helps us to set our focus back on WHY we’re studying this book. More on the Revelation series to come…that’s for certain.

After church, we hopped over to Wal-Mart for a few essentials and then went out for dinner at a restaurant that my dad typically had family gatherings at: Old Country Buffet. I’ll have to tell of my dad in future posts, but this night we were at a location that my family hasn’t been to before (though Rochelle and I had been there before). After eating, we walked around the mall that the restaurant is attached to (boy, these non-specific details are killing me…are they killing you yet?).

Our first stop was Barnes & Noble. We weren’t looking for anything specific at the moment, but then I remembered a book that our pastor had talked about in his series on Revelation. I knew the title of the book, but the author’s name escaped me. So, after a quick query to a B&N clerk, we found and bought ‘What in the world is going on? 10 prophetic clues you cannot afford to ignore’ by Dr. David Jeremiah. This is a huge deal for me, as I really don’t like to read…at all. My mind typically wanders…frequently (in my head, the alarms are going off saying “Incite into Tim alert! Incite into Tim alert!). So, we’ll see how I tackle this in the days and weeks to come. Don’t expect a book report here, but I’m sure that if something really sticks out, I’ll be sure to make reference to it.

Next stop was to the Sears next door to browse, but heard on the intercom that the store was closing in 15 minutes. Hmmm…Saturday night and Sears closes at 9pm…interesting. So, we did a quick browse and were surprised to find a dress for Rochelle that was reduced for clearance (half off!!) and in her size!! The bummer part was that the store was closing soon, so we couldn’t have her try it on real quick. We decided to go ahead and get it and if it didn’t fit, we could return it (I guess now would be a good time to tell you that Rochelle was debating about attending an Oscar party tomorrow (Sunday), in which the participants get all fancied up and watch the Oscars, as though they’re there). We get home and…drum roll…it FITS!!! And, really well, I might add!! She looks HOT!!! T-minus 20 hours to making the others at that party jealous.  🙂

So, it wasn’t our typical Saturday…because we did stuff. We’re tired now, but that should make our sleep tonight that much deeper and relaxing (at least, that’s what we’re hoping for). Good night all!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 6, 2010 in blog, Day-to-Day, My faith

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Not my typical Saturday…

  1. Rochelle

    March 8, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Honey, you are ridiculously sweet. I can’t tell you how much this post meant to me. 🙂 Thank you heaps!!!

     

Leave a comment