RSS

Soapbox Saturday #1…

13 Mar

For my first official attempt at what I’m calling a “Soapbox Saturday” post, I’ll start where the Bible starts. Gen 1:1 says:

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. [ESV]

Let’s break this down. “In the beginning” seems pretty clear cut to me. ‘Was there a time before this?’ Well, if there was, God wouldn’t have wrote “the beginning”, right? A beginning is the start of something…in this case, the beginning of the universe.

Ok, moving on…”In the beginning, God”. Stop the presses! Yes, that’s right, the author of the Bible is making a bold statement…in the very 1st sentence of His book! He’s saying that He was there at the very beginning. Wow, try and put your head around that!! Somehow, the Almighty God exists inside and outside of time…at the same time. How can He do that? The answer is both simple and complex at the same time: He’s God. ‘nuf said.

“In the beginning, God created”. Ok, gotta stop again. Not only was God present at the very beginning of the universe…He DID something too! I’m not sure where the false notion that God doesn’t do anything came from, but it’s clear that He’s at work at the very beginning of what we now know as time. What did He do? Create!! How did he create? He SPOKE. Don’t believe me, check out verse 3:

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.

He spoke…it happened. Why? He’s God. ‘nuf said. I do find it strange though that there’s any debate regarding creation vs. evolution. Either you believe the Bible or you don’t. If you do, you better hold true to all of it and not pick and choose what you want to believe in. In I Timothy 3:16-17 we find out why:

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work. [ESV]

That’s right…ALL scripture, not just the parts you happen to like on a particular day.

Why am I so riled up about this topic? Unfortunately I don’t have a link to confirm this, but I was driving in my car on the way to work the other day and I heard part of a taped interview with Illinois State Senator Bill Brady (who is now the Republican candidate for governor of Illinois). In it, he was asked about a report that said that he wanted to bring creationism to the public schools of Illinois. I’m thinking, “yeah, it should.” But then he’s asked whether he believes in creation or evolution and his answer disturbed me. He said that he believed both to be correct. Say what?!?!? I did a double take. Did I hear that right? Was I sleep driving (I just made that term up…similar to sleep walking, only driving)? Please tell me I’m hearing things!!

Again, I can’t find the clip I heard on the radio (as I recall, it was on WLS-AM during one of their news breaks), so all I’m relying on is memory at this point. I also need to point out that I am not a Roman Catholic and Bill Brady is a Roman Catholic. However, his statement makes me wonder about how devote a follower of Jesus he really is. To deny the beginning of the universe to the Creator is to deny Him. As Jesus said in Luke 11:23a :

Whoever is not with me is against me [ESV]

So now I have a dilemma…come November, who do I vote for? I take my vote very seriously…to the extent that I feel as though I align myself with the person that I vote for. Can I in good conscience vote for someone that doesn’t share this fundamental truth of creation? If I don’t and someone ‘worse’ is elected, what then? Regardless of what happens in November, we can all take comfort that God is in control and NOTHING…I repeat, NOTHING can thwart His supreme will. This gives me great comfort and calms any worries that I may have.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2010 in My faith, Politics, Soapbox Saturday

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Soapbox Saturday #1…

  1. Kayren

    March 16, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Hi, Tim. I’m one of Rochelle’s friends from her blog and came by to say hi. This post piqued my interest. Some Christians will say God used evolution, so maybe that’s what he was saying, although without finding the clip you may not be able to be sure.

    Are you familiar with “Answers in Genesis” and all the literature they put out? I haven’t been to their website for some time but it was good, and they have a fantastic magazine, too.

    Great post!

     
    • Tim

      March 17, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Kayren,

      Thanks for stopping by…and hello to you too! Yes, I am familiar with “Answers in Genesis”, as Ken Ham has stopped by our church on at least one occasion and has spoken to the adults, as well as the kids. Although I don’t find him to be the most engaging speaker, he speaks the truth of God’s Word and I applaud him for that.

      Every time I hear on the news or the Discovery channel people talk about the earth being ‘millions of years old’, I have to roll my eyes at the misinformation that’s out there. So-called ‘scientists’ have glazed over the most important part of discovery: research!! More specifically, researching what’s in the Bible. If only they’d read the Old Testament, they’d find out that the earth is really only a little over 6000 years old. Thankfully, there are people, such as Ken Ham to bring truth back to the public.

      I guess you can say that hypocrisy is a pet peeve of mine (then again, it may be a lot of people’s). In my mind, you either believe that the Bible is 100% from God or you don’t…there’s no give or take in this matter. So any person calling themselves a Christian that denies creation and accepts the theory of evolution, in my mind, denies the Creator (Jesus Christ), which is unacceptable.

      I’m not sure where these “Soapbox Saturdays” will go, but I’ll make an attempt to have a new post every Saturday.

      Thanks again for stopping by!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
