RSS

Soapbox Saturday #2

20 Mar

For this week’s edition of Soapbox Saturday, I’ll post my feelings about something that has received a lot of press as of late…healthcare.

I’m not sure if my opinion of the healthcare bill that’s being discussed in Congress will be of any interest to anyone, as I’m sure you’ve heard it talked about from just about every angle. Also, I’m sure that from reading last Saturday’s post, you’ve figured out that I’m a conservative Christian. That said, it may not surprise you that I’m against the signing into law the current form of the healthcare bill…for a bunch of reasons.

First off, let me say that I’m not against healthcare reform. It’s obvious to just about everyone that there are parts of our current system that stink, whether that’s the price of an average ER visit or the long waiting lines to even be seen by a doctor for a routine physical. Beyond the costs and waiting lines, there’s also frivolous lawsuits to consider too (not that all medical lawsuits are frivolous, but $1 million for spilling hot coffee on yourself…c’mon!). These issues are just the tip of the iceberg, I’m sure.

Secondly, as a follower of Jesus Christ, I need to submit to what God’s Word says. What specifically am I referring to? Matthew 25:35-40 says:

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ [ESV]

Can the solution to our healthcare problem be found in these verses? Well, to a certain degree, no. However, I do believe it’s pretty obvious that I, as well as other followers of Christ, should have a heart for those that are sick, hungry and (though it’s not specifically mentioned) the unhealthy. There’s this belief that’s circulating that Democrats are more sympathetic to the general public and while some of the ‘fundamentals’ that Democrats hold on to may lead one to believe this, they don’t appear to be listening to the general public when it comes to the healthcare bill that’s being debated. I’ve heard stats that say that poll numbers have about half the country in favor of and the other half against the bill. I’ve also heard about the trickery that’s going on to pass this bill, without actually having to vote on the bill (somehow). Whatever is going on doesn’t exactly seem to be of honorable intentions…which makes you wonder about the contents on the bill itself. The honorable thing to do would be to vote on the bill…and take ownership of your vote.

Yes, there are things within the bill that I disagree with. For example…gathering 14 years of taxes to pay for 10 years of healthcare. Odd, right? And the government funding for abortions? Yeah, I hear that’s in there too. Oh, and you think the waiting rooms were full BEFORE this bill gets passed into law…just wait. Once everyone has healthcare, you can guarantee that the waiting rooms will be absolutely packed and the doctor knowing your name will become a thing of the past.

So what are my suggestions? 1st things 1st: either take a vote on the current bill or scrap it all together. A bill of this magnitude deserves someone to either take credit or the blame…depending on the ultimate outcome. 2nd, solve the problems of the current system with passage of individual smaller bills. 3rd, move on. This country’s economy is struggling, with jobs still being lost and an end not totally in sight. Lastly, and most importantly, pray.  Luke 12:24 says:

Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds! [ESV]

God is in control, amen? He will take care of His own. Of this I am sure.

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
