RSS

I finally…

13 May

finished reading the book I purchased a while back, entitled “What in the world is going on” by Dr. David Jeremiah. I was thinking that I was going to make notes about what I was reading and post them for you all to read, but I guess I got too busy. I will hopefully post some thoughts about the book some time in the future, but for now let me say…Good book!

While some topics are covered very well, others aren’t. The biggest example that I can think of that isn’t covered very well is the topic of the Rapture. From what I can recall, Dr. Jeremiah doesn’t explain WHY he thinks that the Rapture will occur before the Great Tribulation but rather assumes that this is way it will happen…no room for any other possibility, without explaining how he got to that conclusion. As many of you know, my pastor is preaching from the book of Revelation, verse by verse, and has come to the conclusion that the Rapture will occur sometime during the Great Tribulation (after mid point, but before the Wrath of God). Both views keep to the knowledge that we don’t know EXACTLY when the Rapture will occur (unfortunately, the mid-trib and post-trib subscribers can’t claim this). So when will it occur? I don’t know, but I wish that both accounts would give a more solid explanation. I guess the search continues.

Other than this troubling topic, Dr. Jeremiah does help bring a realization that the end is nearly upon us. The signs are there…the pieces to the puzzle are out on the table, ready to be assembled…it’s just a matter of time. Are you ready?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2010 in blog, Day-to-Day, My faith

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “I finally…

  1. Rochelle

    May 13, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Yayyy! You finished your first book since college, haha!! Woot, woot! 🙂 Proud of you honey!

     
  2. J. Arthur Hale

    August 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    You know what I like about this post. Your appreciation does not come without important criticism. The pretribulation Rapture of the Church is foundational to our faith. It is our hope. It must be proven. See “The Raptures of The Great Tribulation” for that. Yes I wrote it. But it is comprehensive proof. And we as Christians should all know that, “If any man speak, let him speak as the oracles of God…” (1 Peter 4:11) It is presently freely available at [edited out], though the files are presently out of order–just follow the numbers on both the mp3 and document files… and yes the 577 page book comes with a 47 audio recording–and all the proof anyone seriously desiring it could want. And if you’re not interested in investing that much time to prove the reality of the pretribulation Rapture of the Church. I’d say your criticism is empty. Because as comprehensive as it is, it’s really just a basic proof.

    Grace and peace… J.

    P.S. WordPress directed me to you after my first post–today

     
    • Tim

      August 24, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      J.,

      Thanks for stopping by & checking out the post. I will have to disagree with you on this topic…the pre-tribulation rapture is not foundational; however the rapture, I believe, is. What’s the difference? Timing. If the ‘pre-trib’ rapture was foundational, why is there so much debate about it (over 10 million hits on a Google search of ‘rapture’)? Don’t you think foundational topics should be, well, ‘duh’ statements (such as Jesus is the Only way to heaven, Jesus is the Christ: the Son of the Living God, etc.)? I definitely don’t believe this is the case for the timing of the rapture and I’m sorry if that offends you.
      To be completely honest, I haven’t 100% narrowed down when I think the rapture of the saints into heaven will occur. And, I don’t think the timing of the rapture is something to fight over (taking into account Eph. 4:1-6). However, if someone was to say that they didn’t think Jesus was coming back, well then we’d have a fight on our hands (clearly the “one hope” referenced in the previous verses)!!
      But really, who cares when I think the rapture will occur? I don’t have all the answers, nor do I claim that I do (or publish any books that make me the foremost authority on the topic). However, when one comes across a chapter like Daniel 7, it makes one wonder.

      “Then I desired to know the truth about the fourth beast, which was different from all the rest, exceedingly terrifying, with its teeth of iron and claws of bronze, and which devoured and broke in pieces and stamped what was left with its feet, and about the ten horns that were on its head, and the other horn that came up and before which three of them fell, the horn that had eyes and a mouth that spoke great things, and that seemed greater than its companions. As I looked, this horn made war with the saints and prevailed over them, until the Ancient of Days came, and judgment was given for the saints of the Most High, and the time came when the saints possessed the kingdom. [Daniel 7:19-22, ESV]

      Verse 27 and much later in Revelation 13:7 talk about war being made on the saints. All this leads me to wonder…if the rapture took up all the saints, where’d these other saints come from that the Anti-Christ (in one section referred to as a horn and in another a beast) prevails over? Why the necessity of getting the mark of the beast (Rev. 13:17) if all the saints are gone?
      These verses lead me to believe that Christians will know who the Anti-Christ is…something that the pre-tribulation rapture school-of-thought believes we won’t know (because we’re outta here before he’s identified).
      Yes, there’s a lot of speculation over the timing of the rapture, but please don’t get on a stool and claim that there’s only one reasoning. After all, do you really want to get to heaven and say, “Gee, I’m disappointed that it happened that way”? As my pastor said, “I’ve gotten off the planning committee and joined the welcoming committee.”

      FYI, unless I’ve read or heard your material, I won’t put up links sending my readers to let them read/hear the material, so this is why I had to edit your comment.

       

Leave a Reply

 
