RSS

Hello WOW…Goodbye Comcast

06 Jun

Today, we officially said “Hello” to WOW (Wide Open West) and goodbye to Comcast. Why the change, you ask? Put simply, we were sick and tired of Comcast raising their rates, taking away channels & forcing us to upgrade to their digital devices.

So, today the installers were supposed to come between 10 and 11am. First off, that’s a much better range than Comcast has typically given us (usually a 5-6 hour window), so I can’t complain about that! Turns out, they arrived more like 9am!! Whoops! Bad timing, as Rochelle was sleeping in a tad. We thought something may be up when our next door neighbor’s dog started going berserk. He tends to do this when he can see people. So, 2 guys came and installed our cable.

10-06-05_1.WOW installers doing their thing

Imagine my surprise when this guy started climbing up the ladder and bringing a new wire over from the house. I thought that all they had to do was take the existing cable out of the Comcast feed and plug it into their feed. Apparently not.

After they got the wire hooked up, it was time to hook us up with an Internet connection, so I took one of the reps downstairs and we got working on that. Rochelle stayed upstairs and worked with the other installer to make sure all the cable channels were coming through that were supposed to be coming through. Eventually, all came together and Rochelle & I were VERY pleased at the friendliness and expertise of these 2 guys. Nice job WOW guys!

Once they left, we started browsing the channels we now had, trying to start forgetting the old channel lineup and remembering the new lineup (this will take some time, as there are at least 3 new channels that we didn’t have with Comcast). In so doing, we remembered that we had to now cancel our service with Comcast. So…I tried to call. The call was choppy…very choppy. This still concerns me a bit, as we use Vonage, which uses the internet in order to make phone calls. If the calls are choppy, that means that there’s something wrong with either the Vonage device or the internet. We’re still up in the air on what to do about that.

I eventually decided to use my cell phone to call Comcast. First off, this is the 1st time I have used my new cell for an extended period of time, so it was great to hear the quality from it. I was amazed at the line of questions Comcast had me go through in order to get to the right place. Once I was in the right place, I was told that customer reps were busy and my expected wait time was approximately 10 minutes. As I listened to their music-on-hold, I began to wonder if I was put farther back in their on-hold cue because I wanted to disconnect service.

Eventually, I was helped out and service was discontinued. They then told me that I had to return their equipment within 10 business days, otherwise they’d charge me $150 for one of the units and $35 each for the 2 adapters that I had. I like to save money where I can, so I chose to deliver the equipment at the service center nearest to me.

When I arrived, I was stunned at the line that I saw to get into the place. I know it’s a Saturday and all, but it seemed as though people were there because there was a clearance special or something else going on that I wasn’t “in-the-loop” on. So, I waited.

10-06-05_2. Line going into Comcast when I got there

And waited…

10-06-05_3. 3 Operators

Once indoors, there was this TV that had something on it’s display that read “unusable signal” on it. How ironic that Comcast can’t hook themselves up!!

10-06-05_4. This was in the Comcast building. TV says 'unusable signal'

Eventually, I got up to a representative that was able to process the equipment and we are finally done with Comcast! [and there was much rejoicing. Yea, yea, yeah.]

Oh, and if you were wondering, the line really didn’t get much better after I left. Oh Comcast…will you ever learn?

10-06-05_5. Line going into Comcast as I was leaving

fyi…all pictures were taken from my new cell phone (Samsung Sunburst).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2010 in Day-to-Day, wifester

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Hello WOW…Goodbye Comcast

  1. Rochelle

    June 6, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    So long Comcast, we will NOT miss you!!!!! Yayyyyy!

     
  2. blueviolet

    June 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    In my area, we don’t have any other cable options apart from Comcast! It’ll be interesting to see how this works for you!

     
    • Tim

      June 6, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      Wow…no other choice? That’s amazing! Not even Dish network or DirecTV? Those are dish providers, so I’m guessing they don’t provide internet service…but you may be able to pick that up using DSL through AT&T (if you don’t have UVerse available). Of course there are other internet providers out there (such as Clear, AT&T, Verizon, Sprint & Cricket) but I’d imagine they’re nowhere near as fast as internet through a cable.
      Sorry you feel stuck…especially with a company like Comcast. When will a company realize that we all yearn for an a la carte selection of channels and internet options?? Preachin’ to the choir, right? 😉

       
  3. ComcastMark

    June 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Hello Tim – I am sorry to learn that we have lost you as one of our customers. On the other hand, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience through your blog. You simply provided the opportunity to improve our service. On that note, I’d like to know if you are willing to provide the location of the office you visited. I will share this information with our local leaders so that we can create a better experience for our customers.

    Thanks!

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_can_help@cable.comcast.com

     
    • Tim

      June 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      Mark…the facility that I visited was at 1617 Weld Rd in Elgin, IL. From the looks of things, the closest location that had Saturday hours besides that was in Wheaton and I wasn’t about to attempt that jog. I imagine that is why the location was so busy…there just aren’t that many more choices on a Saturday morning.

       

Leave a Reply

 
