RSS

A few days ago…

20 Jun

we had some REALLY strong storms roll through the Chicagoland area. So intense were the winds, in fact, that it shattered 2 windows in the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower). The first round of storms came through while I was still at work, so I didn’t get to see the damage until I left for home. However, I could see how fierce the winds were from my office window. I didn’t know exactly how bad it was, till I was nearly home.

On my way home, there were SEVERAL tree limbs and branches all over the place. I heard reports of power lines down, but I didn’t really see any of those. I did see a bunch of stoplights not working, which was pretty bad for a rush hour on a Friday evening. I tried to play it safe and drive on less main roads, figuring that I could stay away from the majority of traffic. That worked well for me until I had to cross a road that had 8 lanes of traffic…stop sign rules. Apparently not everyone understands these rules, which makes the cross traffic of these 8 lanes feel like they’re going to get squished like a bug.

I eventually got near my house and then saw this from a nearby house (pictures taken 1 day later):

DSCF5164

DSCF5163

DSCF5162

Intense, right? Yup, there’s a minivan underneath that tree. Power must’ve gotten knocked out too, as we saw ComEd trucks out there today as we came back from church (speaking of….A-M-A-Z-I-N-G sermon today…I hope to get it up soon).

We walked a little further and saw these other trees down:

DSCF5165

DSCF5166

So, the good news, so far as I can tell, is that no one was injured. Also, although the 2nd round of storms came a few hours later, nothing else appeared to have been damaged. Our house survived…but my tomato plant didn’t far all that well. The wind must’ve whipped it around some and snapped a branch from the plant. Fortunately it wasn’t a branch that had any tomatoes on it, but still. I’m starting to rethink where the plant needs to be…not just because of it being damaged in the storm, but also because I don’t think it’s getting the amount of sunlight it needs. I know it doesn’t get any more moisture from rain storms as it is currently hanging underneath gutters. I tried buying a shepherd’s hook for it, but the weight of the plant had me worried that the plant would snap the hook. So the search continues.

Oh…before I forget…Happy Father’s Day to fathers everywhere! I’m not a father yet, but hope to become one…eventually. Right now, I’m content to be an uncle to a ton of kids.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2010 in Day-to-Day, weather

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
