RSS

The world will change

28 Oct

It’s being called D-day…a day that may live in infamy. What day is that? Election day 2010.  I’ve made no apologies for my politcal beliefs: I am a conservative…not a Republican or a Democrat. It’s true, many of the beliefs that I hold onto run in line with the Republican party, but I’ve felt that the past few years the Republican party has chosen candidates (at least in my home state of Illinois) that have strayed from what I thought the Republican party stood for. For example, it used to be that a Republican candidate wouldn’t march in a ‘gay parade’ or would be a Pro-life supporter. Not the case anymore. Don’t believe me? Here’s a link about Judy Baar Topinka (who is running in this election for Comptroller), who was the Republican candidate for governor a few years ago. Currently, Mark Kirk is running for US Senate for the state of Illinois and has voted time and time again in favor of abortion, claiming that he’s an independent in doing so.

I think one of the reasons that these types of candidates are so popular is that Illinois is traditionally a Democratic state. So, in order to get more independent and Democratic votes, candidates are chosen that are more socially moderate than what the national Republican party might have chosen. Well, I refuse to vote for these individuals. As I’ve written before, “If you think a fetus doesn’t deserve to breathe, my vote you shall NEVER receive!”

Believe it or not, there is a reason to my stand and it comes from scripture:

So then each of us will give an account of himself to God. [Romans 14:12, ESV]

I believe that one day, I’ll have to give an explanation for the choices I’ve made. And yes, I believe that will include why I voted for a certain candidate. Beyond this, can I really let myself believe that voting for ‘the lesser of two evils’ will give my spirit peace? In fact it won’t…and I’m glad it doesn’t.

So, this election day, I won’t be voting against beliefs I hold dear, to bow to public pressure. No matter the outcome, it will be a momentous day…one that many have been looking forward to for a long time. The hope is that the change to fiscal conservatism will bring not just economic stability but also growth. One wonders if this can be achieved on man-made principles, without the leading of God Almighty.

Oh, before I jet, check out the voter guides from the Illinois Family institute here. Many issues are covered within them and can help you with your voting on Tuesday. Obviously, they cover only the races in Illinois.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2010 in My faith, Politics

 

Leave a Reply

 
