RSS

Using Skydrive in WordPress, revised again

26 Jul
Back in January, I had written about how to use Skydrive in WordPress. Thanks to a reader, I found out that my instructions were incorrect. Turns out that my original instructions (posted below) are now working. Whether Microsoft will change it again…who knows. If you see something on my blog that’s not working, please let me know and I’ll do my best to fix it right away! Thanks!
Windows Live SkyDrive Logo

Image via Wikipedia

So today I dove head-first into Skydrive, thinking that I’d use it primarily for work. After all, 25 gb worth of free storage just screams for storage of media files, right? Well, after some playing (because I couldn’t find a tutorial online), I was finally able to use Skydrive to host photos, and be able to view them within a WordPress post or page. Better still, I was able to create a streaming file (still hosted on Skydrive) and have it appear in a WordPress blog or page as the simple audio player, talked about in WordPress’ tutorial on adding audio to posts (I’d link you to it, but then they’d be aware of this post).

So why the fuss? Simple…storage. FREE storage. As most WordPress users are aware (if you click the “Upgrades” link under the Dashboard), 25 gb of data storage will cost you $89.97…per year!! What I’m doing will save you that. So…here we go!

First, you’ll need a Skydrive account. If you have a Hotmail email address or a Windows Live Messenger ID, you can log in with that info.

Once logged in, you’ll see that there are a bunch of folders already created for you. Now you can organize them just about any way you like, including adding several subfolders…as I’ve done below. Take note that since you’re attempting to have these photos available to the world through your blog, you’ll want to create these subfolders under the “Public” folder.

Once you’re in the folder that you want to upload your files into, click “Add Files”. You can then search for the files you want to upload or just drag & drop them in.

Once all the files are uploaded, hit Continue.

Lastly (and this is the tricky part), you’ll need to get the web address of the picture you just uploaded. After you hit Continue (the step above), you’ll be given a list of the files that are in the folder you just uploaded files into. Click on the one that you want to get the web address from. If it’s a picture, the picture will open up within Skydrive. In the “Information” section, there are a bunch of stats about the file, including a place where they’ve given you “Web address” and “Embed” links. Neither of these will work with WordPress. What you need to do is right-click the photo and select “Copy Shortcut”.

Now that you’ve got the right web address, in WordPress, select the “Add an image” icon, select the “From URL” tab, and paste the link in the “Image URL” box. You can then edit the size of the picture as you would normally do. Ta-da!!

By the way…the pictures in this ‘tutorial’ are all hosted on Skydrive, but linked to this post…just so you know that it works.

As for the audio part…complete all the steps as above. Instead of clicking “Add an image” icon, type the following into the “Visual” tab:
“[“”audio”” “PasteTheWebAddressHere””]” without all the quotes. Note that there is a space in between “audio” and the audio’s web address. This will give you a streaming audio file from Skydrive, instead of a link to download the file.

While I’m very new at this, this is the way that I’ve found that works for me. If there are shortcuts, please comment below. I will have to see if Skydrive will work with posting photos in a slideshow…at this point, it appears as though it cannot.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in blog

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Using Skydrive in WordPress, revised again

  1. foreualways

    July 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    I like this although I haven’t tried it yet! I will just to see how well it works. I rather use that free space for my personnel photos, a back up! I happen to have a free Photobucket account and they just made their free photo storage unlimited for free!

     

Leave a Reply

 
