RSS

Our journey towards a good night’s sleep

15 Apr

Sleep…much easier to type than to achieve!! The last few years, wifester & I have debated about purchasing a new bed so that we could get some much needed rest. We’ve tossed one name around quite a bit: Comfortaire. Similar to Sleep Number, Comfortaire is a mattress that’s adjustable by an air pump. The similarities between the two are great, but what drives me bonkers about these two companies is that neither one has all of their models available to test out before you buy. Comfortaire is, by far, the worst because they don’t have stores that you can visit to test their beds, unlike Sleep Number. Instead, there are specialty bed stores that have one or two of their models (though they’re called something totally different than their website) on display. Highly confusing…and expensive too.

So, instead of buying a whole new bed system, I’ve tried to go another route and I want to chronicle this with this post (in other words, I may update this post as things change in the future). My first decision was to purchase a new frame/boxspring, which basically functions as a platform. The thinking behind this purchase is that a new foundation would make our current mattress feel brand new (some reviews had said that this had happened to them). Also, if we did decide to purchase a Comfortaire mattress, we’d only purchase the mattress, as we’d have a “platform” foundation.

2/19/12 – Purchased the bed frame. Told that we were to get it between 2/29 & 3/2.
2/25/12 – Received an email that our order has been delayed. New delivery estimate is between 3/9 & 3/13.
3/2/12 – Contacted Target guest services to see where my purchase was. They replied shortly afterwards:

I’m sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. I need a little more time to find the answer to your question. I’ll e-mail you with an update when I have more information.

7 hours later, I received an email that it had been shipped!
3/8/12 – Finally delivered!!.
3/11/12 – Took apart our old frame and boxspring and assembled the new platform.

After a few nights, we were loving the new frame. It made a LOT less noise when we moved in bed. Unfortunately, it didn’t do a whole lot to help with our back/neck/head pain. Knowing that this might be a possibility, I had a backup plan…a bed topper. For some reason though, it took me a while to pull the trigger on purchasing it. I had one in mind that has a lot of good reviews, but it wasn’t until late 4/9/12 that I went ahead and purchased it. I also was curious about and decided to also purchase pillows for the both of us from an infomercial I had seen the week before…

4/9/12 – Purchased 2 King size “My Pillow” pillows (“yellow” for wifester, and “green” for me).
4/9/12 – Purchased King size bed topper
4/10/12 – Pillows shipped, scheduled to arrive 4/12/12.
4/10/12 – Bed topper shipped, scheduled to arrive 4/12/12.

I came home on 4/12/12 and saw these packages waiting for me!


I was immediately surprised at the box the pillows came in…after all, there were supposed to be 2 King size pillows in this package! My curiosity got the better of me and I opened the package right away.


Reading the above instructions, I unwrapped the plastic off the pillows and threw them in the dryer for 15 minutes (one at a time). I pulled them out and was floored at how much the pillow had expanded. I guess the guy on the infomercial was right…you can wash & dry this pillow and it won’t lose it’s fluff!!

While the pillows were in the dryer, I took a look at the mattress topper. I had read reviews previous to purchasing it that it would smell…bad enough to sit out for a few days before using it. I feared the worse but hoped for the best.


Once I got all the plastic off, I could smell it…and BOY did it REEK!!! And now I had a problem…we were scheduled to have guests over at the house the next night and I had this King size smelly piece of foam lying in my living room. There was absolutely no way we were putting it on our bed….not when it was THIS smelly!! So I did what any other person would do…brought it down to the basement to air out.

Currently, I have been using the “My Pillow” for 3 nights. Wifester has yet to try using the “My Pillow”. The mattress topper is still in the basement. Though the smell has gone down, it’s still present (it also feels somewhat moist to the touch). My guess is that we’ll put the topper on next weekend (if not before) and test it out…if I can figure out if the egg-crate side is face up or face down on the mattress. Does anyone know? Leave me a comment!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2012 in blog, Day-to-Day, family, wifester

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
