RSS

What’s on my mind tonight

31 Jan

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything…and I apologize. Usually I like to make a plan about posts, but this one is being written straight from my cellphone…so we’ll see where this goes.

Tonight we went to our church for Saturday evening services. We’ve found that going to church Saturday night instead of Sunday morning is better for Elijah…and anything that helps him ultimately helps US too! Our church theme stems from Psalm 11:3…which says: “if the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?” or putting it another way, “if the foundations aren’t destroyed, what can the wicked do?” With these thoughts, our pastor has put together 6 foundation subjects and has called us to attend when these messages are preached, calling them 100% attendance weekends.

This weekend, the foundation subject was about Jesus. Isn’t it interesting how you can read a section of scripture one time and something sticks out, then read it again sometime later and something else sticks out? Well, tonight it happened to me.

Before I let you know what stood out, let me just say that I sometimes feel like I have ADHD or maybe a “controlled” ADHD. Reading books was so hard for me when I was younger because I could never read a full page without my mind wandering (sometimes about what was on the page, sometimes about something completely different). Well…my mind wanders during sermons too. Sometimes it’s to recall something a different pastor said about the current subject matter. Sometimes it’s focusing on an error that was said. Other times it’s hoping that the preacher goes in a particular direction with the sermon (it typically does not).

Tonight my mind started to wander when we talked about how Barabbas was the first in a long line of people who Jesus was a substitute for. The whole prison scene really got me thinking (here comes the wandering…as well as the thought that this is where the sermon should go). One could say that sin has put us ALL in dark prison…with a death sentence. Jesus has the “get out of jail free” card and all we have to do is accept it. Sure, that’s simplifying things…but in a world of complexity, isn’t it nice to hear something simple for a change?

It does make you (or maybe just me) wonder about those that choose not to accept Jesus. Using my analogy above, these are people in prison, told that they can get out for free and choose to stay in prison…knowing (or maybe not) that their coming execution is coming. It’s hard to imagine someone not wanting to get out of prison…until you read 2 Corinthians 4:3-4: “And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled only to those who are perishing. In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.”

See…the problem isn’t that people don’t want to get out of prison necessarily. It’s that they don’t see that they’re living in a prison because the “god of this world” (Satan) has blinded them to the truth. As my pastor has said multiple times, “you wouldn’t slap a blind person for not seeing something, right?”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2016 in My faith

 

Leave a Reply

 
